Maritime Professional of the Year shortlist unveiled – place your vote!

John Haynes, MD of Shock Mitigation, was crowned the Maritime Professional Year in 2016 John Haynes, MD of Shock Mitigation, was crowned the Maritime Professional Year in 2016

The ECM Maritime Professional of the Year award, celebrates exemplary individuals who work within the commercial marine and maritime sector. Find out who’s made the shortlist and vote today!

The shortlist has been selected and voting is now open for the European Commercial Marine Awards’ Maritime Professional of the Year Award, sponsored by GGTC.

Following a careful selection process by Seawork’s judging panel, the finalists have been announced.

In no particular order, the finalists for the ECM Maritime Professional of the Year 2017 are:

Barry Sales, Technical Manager, Cheetah Marine

Barry has been nominated by his colleague, Lucy Strevens at Cheetah Marine, who comments:

“Barry is a hugely dedicated member of the Cheetah Team who’s passion for boating has been incremental in all aspects of the business from client relations to detailed aspects of the build process”

“Barry is originally from a workshop background, having worked across the manufacturing spectrum from producing mouldings to fitting out and finishing boats. His encylopedic knowledge of the marine sector makes him ideal to advise on all marine equipment including navigation, electronics, onboard power as well as specialist systems for the bespoke catamarans that Cheetah builds”.

“Barry also has a wonderful nature and is very approachable for all potential clients and existing Cheetah owners”.

In his spare time, Barry enjoys working on his powerboat, a Sonny Levy classic. He has also dedicated considerable time and effort to the Wetwheels Foundation, a charity founded by Geoff Holt with the sole aim of getting disabled people out on the water.

Sylvia Ruizendaal, COO, Fender Innovations BV

Sylvia has been nominated by her colleague Koos van Bijsterveld, CEO/Owner of The Netherlands’ Fender Innovations B.V, who comments:

“From the start - marked by winning the Innovations Award during Seawork 2012- Sylvia has been a driving force behind Fender Innovations, supplier of high-quality customized fenders to international customers, including the British RNLI. Bold and hands-on, she helps out on the shop floor whenever needed. Her greatest qualities, however, are her organizational and managerial skills”.

“As COO, she is in charge of PR, HR, procurement, and logistics. She played a vital role in the fast and structured growth of the company (from one employee in 2012 to a team of 22 in 2017). Her constant close monitoring of company processes and her analytical mind allow Sylvia to optimize processes without ever compromising on quality”.

“During the relocation in 2015, ongoing projects were packed at noon, and two hours later everyone was back at work in the new, fully equipped premises. Recruiting and providing in-house training for people at a great distance from the labour market earned Fender Innovations the DR Lely award for the most innovative company in northern North Holland in 2016. Strict and perfectionist when it comes to products and processes, but a valuable coach and tower of strength for everyone involved in Fender Innovations.”

Ben Metcalfe, Managing Director, Landau UK

Ben has been nominated by his colleague, Sara Boyes at Landau, who comments:

“As a dedicated member of the National Boat Shows Board and Vice Chairman of British Marine South, Ben Metcalfe, who is Founder and Managing Director of Landau UK; the leading marine retro-fit specialists, continues to expand the business from an initial one-man band into a full service 24-strong team”.

“Having launched Landau UK into the leisure marine market back in 1996, Ben’s passion and commitment within the maritime industry has been the main influencer of Landau’s growth in the leisure, trade and commercial marine market which has grown from strength to strength over the years”.

“Ben has successfully established strong commercial relationships, working with the likes of Babcock, UK Docks, Shell, BP, the MOD and other similar maritime partners. Bringing the quality and end finish requirements together with the reliability and longevity required of the commercial industry, Metcalfe has reinforced the Landau brand to its team, ensuring the customer is always put first, ensuring standards are retained and kept high”.

In his spare time Ben likes to get out on his boat as much as he can and explore the beautiful South Coast with his family and friends.

Place your vote today!  

Make sure you vote by liking the finalist’s picture on Facebook page @seaworkinternational, the deadline is on the opening day of Seawork International, 13 June at 3pm.

The European Commercial Marine Awards

The winner will be announced at the European Commercial Marine Awards (ECM) event, which will take place on the opening evening of Seawork, Tuesday 13 June, at 17:30  in the fantastic Golden Arrow Restaurant which overlooks the exhibition and Seawork Marina. 

The ECM awards are sponsored by Servogear and Brunvoll, and are ticket-only with the event showcasing the pioneers and achievers across the European commercial marine sector, plus offering its guests ample networking opportunities with key and like-minded professionals in a relaxed environment.

Tickets will sell out fast and spaces are limited, so don’t delay in booking your tickets today for the European Commercial Marine Awards. Contact to order your tickets.

Latest Press Releases

Damen signs contract with Karachi Shipyard & Engineering Works for Material Package of two ASD Tugs 2009

On 5th July, Damen Shipyards Group signed a contract with Karachi Shipyard & Engineering Works (KS&E... Read more

REINTJES Announces New Company Status and Address for the United Kingdom

The Management of REINTJES GmbH and REINTJES Benelux BVBA are delighted to announce a change of stat... Read more

Twin Damen Fast Crew Suppliers 2710

Work begins on twin Damen Fast Crew Suppliers 2710 ordered by Hung Hua Construction Co. Ltd. of Taiw... Read more

View all