2017 Winners

Seawork 2017 European Commercial Marine Awards Winners

Categories, winners and jury quotes:

Spirit of Innovation Award winner - Blue Eye Robotics for the Blue Eye Pioneer
Special Commendation for Spirit of Innovation Award – Garmin for its In Reach satellite communicators

1. Vessel design & Construction winner - MICAD (Italy) for the MODCAT project; “a truly innovative business model allowing smaller operators to buy some of the purchasing power of the big boys.”

2. Marine Engineering & Construction winner - Dynamic Load Monitoring (UK) for the subsea datalogging tensile link; “demonstrating clever use of existing, proven technology to solve a real-world problem in the demanding undersea environment.”
- Second place - Tidal Anchors Ltd (UK) for the Tidal Anchor

3. Marine Equipment, Electronics & Materials winner – Reygar (UK) for the BareFLEET system; “possibly a key step towards the elusive goal of the complete vessel monitoring solution. “
- Second place - the Explosion proof work light distributed by SMG

4. Diving & Underwater Technology winner - Blue Eye Robotics (Norway) for its Blue Eye Pioneer; “this innovation brings underwater viewing into a much more affordable territory. The entire cost of this device could be paid for by one saved commercial diving job.”
- Second place – Jatronic (Norway) for its Pressure operated actuator

5. Safety & Training winner – Survitec (UK) for its Rope Access 3D 275N lifejacket; “amalgamating the very best existing technologies to make a package that is suitable for a specific commercial application.”
- Second place - Seabob Rescue distributed by Landau UK

ECM Maritime Professional of the Year - Barry Sales, Cheetah Marine
ECM Maritime Sustainability Award - CarenEcolo (France) for its Mobile Filtration Unit
ECM Lifetime Achievement Award - Casper Vermeulen, Damen Shipyards (Netherlands)

ECM Awards jury;
Jake Frith (Chair) – Editor, Maritime Journal
Dag Pike – Freelance yachting and commercial marine journalist and author
Jonathan Ridley – Head of Engineering – Southampton Solent University, School of Maritime Science and Engineering
Rebecca van den Berge-McFedries – Editor-in-Chief - Offshore WIND
Richard Freeman – President - SSA (Shipbuilders & Ship Repairers Association)
Chris Pawsey – Innovation Lab Master - Lloyd’s Register
Andrew Webster – CEO - Mercator Media Limited

Tel: +44 1329 825335